International Tournaments of Football


International Tournaments of Football




FIFA World Cup

 The FIFA World Cup is the most famous football tournament featuring men's national teams that qualify for the final. It is organized and regulated by the Federation Internationale de Football Association, based in Zurich, Switzerland, with over 211 national federations. The competition was founded in 1930 as a sport with the aim of uniting the rest of the world under one roof. Soccer started in England in 1888 and was later introduced to many countries such as Argentina and Brazil where the best young talent is now being spotted. Since its inception, more than eight different teams have won the competition.



Football Championship of Europe

The European Football Championship is the second largest national football championship after the FIFA World Cup. The Euro is the main football tournament organized by the European Football Association (UEFA). It was founded in 1958 and since then has had more than ten different winners including Germany, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Greece and more. The European Championship remains one of the most popular football tournaments in the world after the FIFA World Cup. All UEFA member countries participate in a qualifying series for a ticket to the final.



Copa America

The Copa America remains one of the biggest soccer tournaments in the world. The tournament is organized by CONMEBOL and features South American teams with guests from other parts of the world. The Copa America is the oldest continental football competition held and the third most attended event in the world after the European Championships and the World Cup. Founded in 1916, eight of the continent's ten national teams have won the tournament at least once. In the starting era of the 21st century it has been collective by the most of the teams who have most of their best performance from the European land.



Champions League, UEFA

The Champions League is the premier European football competition involving clubs from UEFA member countries. The UEFA Champions League is the most watched club football competition in the world after the English Premier League. The Teams that are on the top ranks like Real Madrid, Barcelona, Manchester United, Paris Saint-Germain and Juventus have gained many fans around the world thanks to their participation in the competition. Aside from its popularity, it is one of the richest football competitions in the world, with countless sponsors every year. 



African Cup of Nations

The competition was founded in 1955 as the European Champions Clubs Cup or European Cup until it was renamed the Champions League in 1992. The competition commands global attention even as the best Africans battle it out for the biggest trophy in Europe's major leagues. It was founded in 1957 with only three competing teams. But today more than 24 teams qualify for the final. The African soccer powerhouse includes Egypt, Algeria, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, DRC, Zambia, Tunisia, Morocco, South Africa etc.



FA Cup

The English FA Cup is one of the most watched domestic cups in the world. The popularity of the FA Cup can be attributed to the successes achieved in European competitions by top teams such as Liverpool, Manchester United, Chelsea and Manchester City. The level of organization, infrastructure and television coverage also make the Premier League admirable. Today's FA Cup features some of the greatest players in the world and some of the greatest managers in the world. Another excellent value is the finances and large investments of foreigners who have recognized the lucrative nature of the league and the reach of the market. The FA Cup, also known as the Football Association Challenge Cup, is an annual cup competition in England. Founded in 1871, it is the oldest national cup tournament in the world.



Women’s World Cup

The FIFA Women's World Cup is the most prestigious women's football competition in the world and one of the most watched. Competition organized by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and held every four years. It was founded in 1991. The US women's national team is the most successful of the tournament with four titles. In 2011, the United States placed second once and third three times. Germany is in second place with two titles.



FIFA Club World Cup

FIFA Club World Cup is an annual club football World Cup organized by FIFA. The tournament features the various winners of the respective championships of the six confederations. This is a gathering of the winners of a specific Champions League around the world competing for the biggest club trophy. The Club World Cup was established in 2000 as a successor to the Intercontinental Cup, which brought together football teams from Europe and South America. The competition has produced several winners, including Real Madrid, which is now the most respected football club in the world. 



Copa Libertadores

The Copa Libertadores is the most prestigious football competition in the Americas.It is the second most important continental club football competition after the UEFA Champions League. Established in 1960, the tournament brings together some of the biggest football teams in the world including Corinthians, Sao Paulo, Independiente, River Plate, Boca Juniors, etc. Corinthians and Sport are the only two teams outside of Europe to hold the FIFA Club World Championship, the inaugural edition of which was held in 2000. Argentina's Independiente has an excellent record in the competition, winning seven league titles without losing a single final.