Women Cup


Women Cup





Six countries hosted the Women's World Cup. China and the United States have hosted the tournament twice, while Canada, France, Germany and Sweden have hosted the tournament once. Australia and New Zealand will host the 2023 competition, meaning it will be the first competition in the Southern Hemisphere, the first Women's World Cup to be hosted by two countries and the first FIFA seniors' competition, either men's or women's, to be held in two confederations is discharged.




Organized by their respective confederations: African Football Confederation (CAF), Asian Confederation (AFC), North, Central and Caribbean Football Confederation (CONCACAF), South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL), Confederation of Oceanic Football Confederation (OFC) and the Union of European Football Associations For each tournament, FIFA determines the number of seats allocated to each continental zone based on the relative strength of the confederation.



Final tournament

The final brought together 12 to 24 national teams in the host countries for about a month. There are two group stages followed by an elimination stage. During the period, this club's teams will be divided into groups of four. Each group plays a round robin, with each team playing three games against other teams in the same group. The final round of matches in each group will be scheduled at the same time to maintain equality between the four teams. As part of the 2015 24-team format, the top two and runners-up from each group and the top four third-place finishers qualified for the round of 16, also known as the knockout stage.




In the 1970s, several countries lifted their ban on women's football, which led to the formation of new teams in many countries. After the official continental women's tournaments were held in Asia in 1975[8] and Europe in 1984, Ellen Wille urged the FIFA Congress to do more to promote women's football. [9] This happened during the 1988 FIFA Women's Invitational Tournament in China to test the feasibility of a Women's World Cup. On February 12, internationals took part in the competition: four UEFA, three AFC, two CONCACAF and one each from CONMEBOL, CAF and OFC. After the opening game of the tournament between China and Canada, which was attended by 45,000 spectators, the tournament was considered a success with an average attendance of 20,000. The competition was deemed a success and on June 30 FIFA approved the proclamation of an official World Cup, to be held again in China in 1991.Twelve teams competed again, this time ending with the United States defeating Norway in the finals.




Conceived in 1998 for the 1999 tournament, the current trophy takes the form of a spiral band that encircles the ball at the top to capture the athleticism, exuberance and elegance of international women's football. In 2010 it received a cone-shaped base. Below the base is engraved the name of each of the previous tournament winners. Sterling silver plated with 23k yellow and white gold, estimated value in 2015 at approximately $30,000.The men's World Cup trophy, on the other hand, is made of 18k gold and has a precious metal value of $150,000. However, a new winner's trophy is built for each female champion to take home, while there is only one original men's trophy that FIFA keeps, with each male champion taking home a replica of the trophy.



Best performances by leagues

In 2019, four of the six FIFA confederations reached the final of the Women's World Cup, with the exception of CAF (Africa) and OFC (Oceania). CONMEBOL are the only confederation to reach the World Cup final without a win since defeating Brazil in 2007. The strongest African team was Nigeria, who were eliminated in the quarter-finals in 1999. Oceania sent two teams, Australia and New Zealand, to the World Cup, but Australia did not progress past the group stage until the national football association moved to the Asian Football Confederation and New Zealand (which remains in the OFC) never reached the round of 16.




He was the most watched football game in American history with nearly 23 million viewers,[26] more than the 2015 NBA Finals and the Stanley Cup.[27] It was also the most-watched Spanish-language program in the history of the tournament. The tournament was reportedly watched by over 750 million viewers worldwide. The 2015 Women's World Cup grossed nearly $73 million. [29] In comparison, the 2018 men's tournament generated approximately $6.1 billion in revenue.




At the end of each World Cup, awards are presented to players and teams shortlisted for achievements other than their final tournament team placement. Currently, the FIFA Technical Study Group awards five post-tournament awards. The Ballon d'Or (now known commercially as the "adidas Ballon d'Or") for the best player of the tournament (first awarded in 1991).Golden Boot (now commercially referred to as the "Adidas Golden Boot", formerly known as the Golden Boot) for the tournament's top goalscorer (first awarded in 1991). formerly known as Best Goalkeeper) for Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament (first awarded in 2003), FIFA Young Player Award for Best Player of the Tournament under 21 at the start of the calendar year (Top awarded 2011).